April 12, 2023

Ricketts, Colleagues Re-Introduce Bill to Permanently Repeal Death Tax

April 12, 2023

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Pete Ricketts (R-NE) joined 40 of his colleagues in re-introducing a bill to permanently repeal the federal estate tax, commonly known as the death tax. The Death Tax Repeal Act would repeal the estate and generation-skipping transfer taxes that harm multi-generational farms, ranches, and businesses in the wake of the owner’s death. U.S. Senator John Thune (R-SD) is the original sponsor of this legislation.

“The death tax is an unfair and unnecessary tax that can devastate family-owned farms, ranches, and small businesses,” said Senator Ricketts. “This tax penalizes grit and success, and undermines the lifelong efforts of Nebraskans to leave a legacy for their kids and grandkids. It’s time for the death tax to die.”

Other co-sponsors of the legislation include U.S. Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), John Boozman (R-AR), Mike Braun (R-IN), Katie Britt (R-AL), Ted Budd (R-NC), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Steve Daines (R-MT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Lindsay Graham (R-SC), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Ron Johnson (R-WI), John Kennedy (R-LA), James Lankford (R-OK), Mike Lee (R-UT), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Jim Risch (R-ID), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Rick Scott (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), and Roger Wicker (R-MS).


Follow Senator Ricketts: InstagramTwitter, and Facebook

To join Senator Ricketts’ press list, please click here.