March 14, 2023

Ricketts Co-Sponsors Fischer Bill to Allow Year-Round E15 Sales

March 14, 2023

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Pete Ricketts (R-NE) co-sponsored bipartisan, bicameral legislation from Senators Deb Fischer (R-NE) and Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) to allow for year-round E15 sales.

“High costs of living are costing American families hundreds of dollars a month,” said Senator Ricketts. “We owe it to them to use every tool we have to save them money at the pump. Nebraskans know year-round E15 sales have endless benefits like saving families money, benefitting the environment, and supporting Nebraska farmers and producers. It also lowers our dependence on foreign oil and moves us closer to energy independence. I’m grateful to Senator Fischer for her leadership on this issue and look forward to getting E15 sold nationwide all year-long.”

“Our bipartisan legislation is the only permanent, nationwide solution to unleashing the power of year-round E15,” said Senator Fischer. “It’s why we’ve been able to bring together a diverse group of stakeholders from the oil/gas, biofuel, ag, and transportation sectors to support our legislation. Negating the need for a patchwork of regulations will ensure all Americans can enjoy lower costs at the pump. With this unique coalition of support, I’m more optimistic than ever that we can make year-round E15 a reality.”

The Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act would allow the year-round, nationwide sale of ethanol blends higher than 10%. It would also end years of regulatory uncertainty. Senator Ricketts is a longtime champion for ethanol. When he was Governor, Ricketts signed legislation offering incentives to retailers who sell E15 or higher blends of ethanol. Ricketts also joined Midwestern governors in requesting a permanent waiver in support of year-round E15.

Reps. Adrian Smith (R-NE) and Angie Craig (D-MN) have introduced companion legislation in the House of Representatives.


Follow Senator Ricketts: InstagramTwitter, and Facebook

To join Senator Ricketts’ press list, please click here.