United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

October 4, 2023

The Honorable Charles Schumer Senate Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Leader Schumer:

We urge you to modify the Senate calendar so that we remain in session Monday through Friday every week until all 12 fiscal year 2024 appropriations bills are passed in the Senate and House and signed into law by President Biden. The House of Representatives has already taken the step to forgo their October recess and the Senate must follow suit. While valuable work is done while Senators are back in their home states, it is imperative that we remain in DC until our appropriations work can be completed. That is what the American people expect and deserve of us.

The Senate Appropriations Committee passed all 12 appropriations bills through the Committee in June and July. In August and September, the Senate could have debated them, amended them, and ultimately passed final versions before the September 30th deadline. While that alone wouldn't have staved off a shutdown, it would have shown we are committed to working together to tackle this critical government funding issue. Instead, the Senate recessed for five of the nine weeks and failed to pass even a single appropriation bill out of the Senate. The continuing resolution extended government funding until November 17th. That allows seven weeks for the Senate to consider the fiscal year 2024 appropriations bills. The past nine weeks make it clear that we cannot afford to take a weekday off, much less a weeklong recess, with so much work to be completed in such a condensed time.

This is too important of an issue to put off. We must get back to regular order, and that means passing all 12 appropriations bills. We the undersigned request that you update the Senate calendar so that we are in session every weekday until all 12 appropriations bills are passed.

Sincerely,

Pete Ricketts

United States Senator

John Barrasso M.D.

United States Senator





John Cornyn

United States Senator

Deb Fischer

United States Senator

Bill Haggerty

United States Senator

Roger Marshall M.D. United States Senator

Rick Scott
United States Senator

United States Senator

Markwayne Mullin

Eric Schmitt

United States Senator

John Thune

United States Senator

Roger Wicker

United States Senator